Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member Janno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    My Ride
    Harley-Davidson 1200xlh
    Posts
    44
    Thanked: 11

    Aftermarket/genuine tacho...simple or difficult installation

    Hi Guys, Is it a simple job to install a tacho to my HD Sportster 1200 custom year 2000, what sort of price should I be paying for a complete kit aftermarket/genuine HD ?, tia Janno

  2. #2
    Senior Member K9F's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    My Ride
    FXSE CVO BREAKOUT
    Posts
    3,091
    Thanked: 947
    Google is your friend. Give these a call, they can cater for whatever you need. Smiths have been in the business of making automotive instruments for a very long time, are top quality and backed up with a decent no quibble warranty.

    https://www.caigauge.com/

    IF YOU GO THROUGH LIFE WITH YOUR HEAD IN THE SAND.....ALL PEOPLE WILL SEE IS AN ARSE!!
    TREAT EVERY DAY AS YOUR LAST.....ONE DAY YOU WILL BE RIGHT!!

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to K9F For This Useful Post:

    Janno (10-08-2018)

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    My Ride
    Harley-Davidson 883 Iron
    Posts
    233
    Thanked: 73
    I think Bluenose-1956 has one fitted

  5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mark881 For This Useful Post:

    bluenose-1956 (10-08-2018), Janno (10-08-2018)

  6. #4
    Senior Member Gettin'onabit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Suffolk
    My Ride
    Harley-Davidson
    Posts
    836
    Thanked: 307
    You can get the genuine HD kit which includes bracket; wiring loom and tacho for around £350. I was lucky; mine cost £250 from an HD main dealer as it was a cancelled order.

    Just make sure you get the right one for your bike year.

    If your bike is 'similar' to mine fitting was fairly easy - remove the speedo and bracket - but let them hang down.

    Remove the petrol tank - again not difficult.

    Trace the loom of the speedo to where it connects the main loom - probably under the tank. Disconnect it - may need to cut several cable ties.

    Remove the speedo from the single clock bracket - remove the trip / reset button (if you have one). Hardest bit is to get the speedo out of it's cover so you can remove the old wiring (there is a connector inside).

    It is then really a case of assembling both clocks onto the new bracket after they have been connected to the new wiring. Fit the bracket and then route the new wiring around the headstock until it can be connected to the main loom.

    Note - when you remove the speedo, and before the new bracket is fitted; the handlebars will be loose and could cause damage if they fall - so provisionally tighten the clamp until you get round to re-fitting.

    HD genuine come with fitting destructions.

    Assemble the speedo minus the old wiring and the tacho onto the bracket

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Gettin'onabit For This Useful Post:

    bluenose-1956 (10-08-2018), Janno (10-08-2018)

  8. #5
    Senior Member bluenose-1956's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Halifax, United Kingdom.
    My Ride
    2011 XL883N Iron
    Posts
    4,012
    Thanked: 1400
    Hi Janno,

    There is a genuine H-D tacho kit, the part number is 67182-07. It's a plug and play item for 2004 - up Sportster models and costs £336.42 from Jersey H-D.

    For a pre-2004 models the plug inside the speedometer is different to the later type, you'll either have to de-pin and re-pin the old plug or cut it off altogether and splice it onto the new wiring harness, the speedometer wiring colours are the same for rigid mounted and rubber mounted Sportster models so the splicing won't be a problem.

    Here is the kit, it does come with a dual instrument wiring harness.

    67182-07_2_harley.jpg

    Here is my 2011 Iron 883 with dual instruments.

    IMG_20140719_215100.jpg

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bluenose-1956 For This Useful Post:

    Gettin'onabit (10-08-2018), Janno (10-08-2018)

  10. #6
    Member Janno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    My Ride
    Harley-Davidson 1200xlh
    Posts
    44
    Thanked: 11
    Thank you for the advice guys .....
    You’ve all been a great help........... Janno

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Janno For This Useful Post:

    bluenose-1956 (10-08-2018)

  12. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    My Ride
    XL1200V Sportster
    Posts
    16
    Thanked: 6
    You could also go down the genuine Harley digital speedo/tacho route, this is a single instrument with speedo/tacho/fuel/gear position. It is straight forward fit, no extra wiring no need to take tank off. I paid about £260 for it last year,it also has many options to configure the the different dial colours. You can change the colour of the cursor. You may also need the in tank unit for the fuel level if your bike is not a recent model. By the way the fuel gauge looks nice but is more of a fool gauge, luckily the low fuel light still works also with a very loud beep which I never heard on the original speedo

  13. #8
    Member leswaller's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Chipping Norton
    My Ride
    Harley-Davidson XL883 Superlow
    Posts
    13
    Thanked: 1
    I am interested in how to change the colour of the dial and/or cursor.
    I have a 2017 Sporty, I assume it is the same unit that you are talking about.
    Please give a bit more information
    Thanks
    Rules are for the obedience of fools and the guidance of the wise
    Les

  14. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    My Ride
    2017 Harley-Davidson XL1200T
    Posts
    175
    Thanked: 65
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_8pNdI4pLD0

    https://estore.chester-harley-davids...74-p13236.html

    There is 2 models of this and I did post I didn't think this would work on pre 2014 bikes but it looks like this one is for 04 to 13 which are pre CAN.

    The OP has a 2000MY bike so it looks like this will not work for him.
    Last edited by Andy from Sandy; 10-24-2018 at 06:09 PM.

  15. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Plymouth
    My Ride
    2016 Iron 883
    Posts
    258
    Thanked: 106
    My info is that 67182-07 will not work on 14 or later bikes that use a newer CANBUS protocol.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •