Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    My Ride
    Harley-Davidson

Post FLSTC 1450 Won't Start.

HELP !
    Hi Guys, 2001 FLSTC1450 carb model, owned for 17 years. Blew cobwebs off last week and started in my garage, all good rolled it out Friday for first run of the year but wouldn't start. Checked fuel, drained fuel, removed filter, drained carb, refill with fresh fuel, still no go......even with a squirt of easy start..tut !
    Battery on opti mate so plenty of cranking amps
    Turn to spark, try plug to ground, fairly weak orange spark, try spare set of leads and plugs.....still orange spark and not firing.
    Inspect ignition module and connectors. Am I correct in thinking there should be a blue spark ? If so, could it be coil or voltage regulator faulty ??

Thanks for any help in advance

Mick
    Last edited by mooseman1450; 05-10-2018 at 10:19 PM.

My Ride
    Harley-Davidson Forty Eight
    Hi I’m no expert but a few quick internet reads suggests the coil is your next place to look. There are mixed opinions about spark colour, the general opnion seems blue = strong and orange = weak and so we end up thinking coil next. Breakdown membership? ...They may at least test the coil performance? Anyhow, just sharing what’s out there via google. Best of luck.

My Ride
    Harley-Davidson
    Hi Steve, many thanks for your input......will let you know

My Ride
    Harley-Davidson
    Hi again, new coil fitted yesterday but still wont fire. Turned over with a spare plug to ground, spark looks quite weak.
    Pulled and checked crank sensor as well........Still searching !!
    Last edited by mooseman1450; 05-24-2018 at 10:44 AM.

My Ride
    2016 Iron 883
    if the spark 'jumps the gap' it should fire, you need air and fuel too...

6. The Following User Says Thank You to Johnnythefox For This Useful Post:

mooseman1450 (05-29-2018)

My Ride
    Harley-Davidson
    Back again !